McGee and Junkin win the CoKL election

Incumbents Ric McGee and Brian Junkin have both held onto their seats in council. Unofficial results reported by the CoKL indicate that Mayor McGee defeated Andy Letham by a little over 1100 votes. Lynne Boldt trailed both a distant third, receiving about 8.3% of the vote. Brian Junkin defeated challenger Gail Thommassen in a very close race for Ward 7 Councillor. The (unofficial) vote count for the Council seat was 1094 to 928, a margin of only 166 votes, or 8%. (The official vote count will be announced in the afternoon of October 26.)

The challengers also deserve our thanks and congratulations. This was a close race, and the candidates campaigned very hard. Part of that effort included an all-candidates meeting right here in Sturgeon Point. They all demonstrated their strong commitment to the political process and to Sturgeon Point.

Both Ric McGee and Brian Junkin have been strong supporters of Sturgeon Point in the past and we look forward to continuing our excellent working relationships with them in the coming years. Congratulations to them both.

Leave a comment